Got a Georgia Stop Sign ticket? Fix it!
Before you pay your Georgia Stop Sign ticket contact us
We have developed a highly specialized division of our firm dealing only with Georgia traffic and speeding issues. That means that our firms’ attorneys are actually practicing in the local Georgia courts where your ticket will be prosecuted — day to day, month to month, and year to year. Since 2005, the traffic division attorneys at Hendrick & Henry have cultivated these relationships and will put them to work for you. – Ben Mozingo
Don’t Pay that Georgia Stop Sign Ticket.
First call 404-310-9795
to discuss your options
Save money on insurance.
No points. No record.
Usually no court appearance
What’s the Big Deal?
Why should I pay for an attorney in addition to possibly paying for fines?
Because we’ll save you money. While it costs more up front to hire a lawyer when you receive a traffic ticket in Georgia, you’ll save more over time if they are successful in avoiding the consequences to your driving history. In addition to your fine, your insurance rates could increase anywhere from $400 to $1000 per year, over the next three (3) to seven (7) years. This is anywhere from $1200 to $7000 in savings you might be leaving on the table.
Many drivers don’t realize the hidden costs that follow a traffic citation until it’s too late. Convictions can also cause your life insurance rates to climb. And yes—you will have that dreaded “record” next time you’re in court. You don’t need to take our word for it. Call your insurance company to ask what might happen to your rate if you’re convicted of a ticket (hypothetically, of course!).
With some offenses, depending on the jurisdiction your case is in, it just does not make good sense to hire a lawyer. While we cannot ethically offer guarantees, our experienced network of attorneys know when we can likely add value vs. when we’ll just cost you extra. For more information or immediate help on your specific case, call our team now at 404-310-9795.
“Wherever the road takes you, we’re here to help. Talk to us.”
It’s easy to start the Free Consultation process for your Georgia Stop Sign ticket.
We want it to be easy for you to retain the legal experience of the Georgia law firm of Hendrick and Henry.
FREE Stop Sign ticket case review
Hendrick & Henry defends all types of Georgia tickets
State of Georgia Stop Sign law & penalties
Georgia law requires that all motorists come to a COMPLETE stop before proceeding through an intersection marked with stop signs. Many drivers receive tickets for the so-called “California Roll,” where they come to a nearly complete stop, but take their foot off the brake at the last second before proceeding forward. In many jurisdictions, we see recurring areas where officers “hide out,” waiting behind trees or in other low-profile spots watching sparsely traveled stop sign intersections. Ultimately, in these cases, it is the officer’s word against the driver’s that results in the citations and conviction. If convicted, 3 points will be assessed to your driving record.
“Points” can be somewhat misleading in terms of the consequences you will face for receiving a traffic ticket. In Georgia, an accumulation of 15 or more points will cause a suspension of your driving privilege. Drivers only occasionally face this type of suspension because one has to receive a fair number of moving violations before they will be suspended. This is really the only purpose of the “point” system, unless you are under 21 years of age (see below).
However, most drivers relate “points” to their insurance rates. They have little correlation as the insurance company is not as concerned with the number of “points” you have as they are with what your driving record shows. Whether or not you receive “points” has nothing to do with whether the conviction will be reported to the Department of Drivers’ Services in Georgia. If your conviction is reported, it will become part of your driving record, and your insurance company will see it. Your liability premium rates will rise if anything is reported.
To that end, there is also a fair amount of confusion over the use of the plea called Nolo Contendere which will result in no “points” being assessed for the conviction. It is not as beneficial as many people believe. You may use this type of plea once every 5 years, and it will only be allowed at the Judge’s discretion. Even if a “Nolo” plea is allowed, it will not prevent the conviction from being reported to the Department of Drivers’ Services. Your liability insurance premium rates will still rise since the conviction will still be reported.
Oftentimes, the most efficient solution to a stop sign ticket is not to plead Nolo or to challenge the officers observations. The most efficient solution involves figuring out a way to avoid having the charge reported to the Department of Drivers’ Services. This can be done in a number of ways that involve legal amendments to the Uniform Traffic Citation (the document you were given a copy of—your ticket). Whenever we successfully complete a case in this way, there will be no record that the ticket was ever issued on your driving record. This will prevent your liability insurance rates from rising.